A Kaleidoscope View of Life

Wokai-team-compressed

 

I have made about 20 or more trips to China in the past couple of years, and each trip I have focused on basketball, basketball, basketball (see www.wohoops.com – another startup by Blastoff Ventures).  And whatever time I have had that was not spent meeting a new partner, hiring, opening the office, working with our technical team, shuffling between airports, battling jet lag, or just missing home, I spent trying to better understand the culture, the people, and my surroundings.

And in all the time I have spent here, combined with my experiences with our Chinese team and those micro-instances spent learning about China and its people, I feel that I have been able to get a pretty good grasp on ‘what china is all about.’

Much like any country throughout our world (including the US), there are aspects of this country that are truly amazing, while other areas that are utterly sad.  And in my privileged life, I have come to realize that I tend to see far more of the great things that both the U.S. and China has to offer, and rarely am exposed to the elements that are less than desirable.

Even as I write this, a sense of guilt falls upon my shoulders. How fortunate I truly am. I see life through a lens that is but a dream and a fantasy to so many others, like the millions of individuals right here in China. 

I met a group of inspirational people today in Beijing that are working to portray a ‘kaleidoscope view’ of those who are truly in need — a view of life I strive to introspect on a daily basis.  They help people who do not worry about matching their pants with their shirt, but rather, being able to feed themselves at sunup and sundown.  Their help roams into remote villages, such as faraway mountain terraces, and places that someone like me, merely would normally never know exist – if not for people like those at Wokai.org

The folks at Wokai are young, enthusiastic, kind, and caring; and are doing work that truly exemplify what it means to “make a difference.”  They are passionate about what they do and are compassionate in how they do it.  You can read more about Wokai at:  http://www.yourcause.com/Charities/113814740

After meeting the Wokai team, the invisible torch has been passed to me.  What can I now do to help?  What can I do within YourCause to help Wokai more effectively have a positive impact on the lives of others?

How can you help? 

Leave a Reply

